30 Day Challenge, day 23

A letter to someone. Anyone

Image

Angkor Wat at sunrise

I used to write letters to my Grandma whilst I was at university. She used to love getting them from me, and I miss writing them. I think that writing with a pen in the age of the keyboard is becoming of a bit of a lost art, so I liked to stay in practice. Sadly she died nearly two years ago, but I’ll have a go at writing one. 

Dear Grandma, 

A lot has changed in the past two years. You’d be so proud of me, I graduated with a 2:1 from uni, which was brilliant but so damn annoying that I didn’t get a first! I was only 2 marks of! Damn them all! The ceremony was nice, I tried to come out with a clever comment when the Chancellor asked me a question when he gave me my degree, I think he wondered what the hell I was on about. Being so witty is hard all the time!! Leaving my friends was really hard, you can imagine how close I’ve gotten to them over the past 3 years, but I want to move down to London in a future so I can be close to them, so fingers crossed I’ll find a job down there!

Travelling to Asia this year was amazing. I’ve made some friends that I never want to forget, and seen things that not that many people get to see. I think I’d like to work in travel, there is a great company called STA that I’d really like to work for. They cater for younger people which is right up my street. I don’t really fancy wearing a crap uniform and help middle aged people book a flight to Tenerife! Helping people have as good a time as I did would be really fulfilling I think! My favourite country was Vietnam, the South in particular was brilliant! The food was cheap, but more importantly so was the beer! I’m sure you would have approved of me buying lots of Scotch! I do love it, just as much as you love sherry at Christmas! Muahaha!

The temples in Cambodia are some of the most beautiful places I will probably ever go to in my life. Watching the sun rise over Angkor Wat, one of the modern wonders of the world, is something I will never forget. What was amazing is how kind the Cambodian people are. They have faced such horror in their recent history, it’s amazing how willing they are to help foreigners. I left feeling truly humbled.

Being back home has been a bit lame, Mum has been annoying me about work, but she doesn’t get that it’s quite difficult right now! She says just go for anything, but that’s not the route I want to take! If only you were still here, I could take care of your garden on a full-time basis! 

I’ll never be able to say how much I miss you.

All my love, 

Jonathan

Leave a comment